Contact Us for a Free Consultation 314-827-4384

Possession of Drugs

We Defend People Charged with Unlawful Drug Possession

A drug charge — from minor drug possession to felony drug trafficking — will change your life forever. We have experience handling drug cases in federal, state and municipal court. We understand that to get the best possible result, the prosecutor most know your lawyer is willing to put their case against you to task and by trying it to a jury of your peers. This translates into a winning legal strategy that connects well with the jury, anticipates prosecutors' moves and puts up a fight, no matter the charges our clients face.

We have successfully defended clients accused with the possession of most controlled substances including heroin, opiates, oxycodone, Vicodin, cocaine, meth and other drugs.

Penalties for Drug Possession

The possible penalty you face when charged with the possession of a controlled substance depends on the type, quantity, and location of the drugs you are alleged to have possessed. Your own personal background, criminal history and current life situation will also play into what sentence you can expect if found guilty.

Marijuana

Possession of Marijuana is a misdemeanor in Missouri so long as the amount you were alleged to have possessed is under 35 grams. If the amount is under 10 grams and it's your first offense, it is a class D misdemeanor and only punishable by a fine. If the amount is under 35 grams but more than 10 grams, possession of marijuana is a class A misdemeanor for which you technically could spend a year in jail and/or be fined $2000. Marijuana possession over 35 grams is a class D felony punished just like the other felony drug possession crimes detailed below.

Felony Substances

Generally speaking, possession of a controlled substance or a felony amount of marijuana is a class D felony in Missouri. This makes it punishable by a prison sentence up to 7 years in the Department of corrections. Other possible sanctions for each drug possession offense include probation, a fine up to $10,000, or a term in the county jail up to one year. 

In recent years, courts have made more treatment options available for first-time, non-violent felony drug offenders. In Missouri, most counties have treatment courts set up to allow drug offenders to get treatment, avoid a felony conviction and work to clean their record. These courts, however have very stringent requirements and should not be entered into lightly. Failure to complete a treatment court will expose you to all the original penalties for the drug possession that have been detailed above.

Prior and Persistent Drug Offenders

If you have already been charged and convicted with a prior felony drug offense, you know that the penalties you are facing this time around are much harsher.  Prior and persistent drug statutes in Missouri can increase punishment levels for simple possession from a Class D felony (2 to 7 years) to a Class A felony (10 to 30 years, or life).  If you already have a drug related conviction and are now facing another one, you need to contact a criminal defense attorney experienced in defending people charged with drug crimes to protect your interests and your freedom.

SCHEDULE YOUR FREE CONSULTATION TODAY TO SPEAK WITH AN EXPERIENCED ST. LOUIS DRUG POSSESSION ATTORNEY.

If you'd like to speak with a criminal defense attorney about your case, call us directly at 314-827-4384, submit the contact form, or use this link to schedule consultation via telephone or Zoom right now.

Menu